We provide free access to qualified tutors across the U.S.
Find the perfect tutor now!

In-Person Tutoring Online Tutoring
Search

ie: Algebra, Writing, Guitar...

ie: 33635 or Tampa, FL

Minerva D.

Back

Franklin Park, IL 60131

Female ( Age 71 )

Member since:06/2013

Rates from $25 to $30

I can perfom tutoring:

  • In-home
  • Group

Will travel up to 15 miles

Additional Policies:

Cancellation without notice fee of $15

Contact This Tutor

Provide details about your tutoring needs.

Subject

In-Person Tutoring Online Tutoring

Your Zip Code:

First Name

Last Name

Email

Confirm Email

Notify me of available tutors

I have read and agree to the Terms of Use

About Me

Experience Summary

I attended Northeastern Illinois University and obtained a B.A. degree in Elementary & Special Education, with honors. My first job, straight out of college was as an Educational Consultant. I trained teacher how to us computers to install educational programs for their students. After four years I was transfered to Florida. I resigned after a year and returned to Chicago. Around the mid 80's I relocated to Puerto Rico and work as a 3rd and 4th grade teacher. After two years I returned to Chicago and work in a respite care unit as a special education teacher. After two years, relocated again to Atlanta, Ga. It was there that I discovered my love for teaching kindergaten children and a 4th grade special education class. I decided to return to Chicago after a couple of years and teach at the preschool and kindergarten level; instead I became a director for a Head start program. This was the beginning of my adminstrative career and preschool adventures. I have also taught 7th grade (during 2nd stay in Puerto Rico) tutored Englished for elementary students and adults.

Teaching Style

I basically teach according to what the students like or is familiar with (art, sport, etc.) and I utilize what they're good at with the subject matter. For instance, if a student is into baseball, I teach math using scoring method, countries where players are from for social studies, speed of running, throwing, etc. for teaching science, and so on. With the younger students, I oberve them during choice time or free play and document what areas they are attracted to the most, how they interact with each other and their conversations. I use the data to help me develop and strenghten the abilities they exhibit.

My Hobbies

I enjoy reading, writing, drawing, painting, sewing, swimming and shopping

Other Comments

I enjoy tutoring and assisting children with their school work and teaching Spanish.

Credentials

Type Level Year Title Issued By

Subject Commentary

All Subjects I Tutor

  • American History
  • Basic Learning Skills
  • Creative Arts
  • Creative Writing
  • Drawing
  • Elementary
  • Elementary Grammar
  • Elementary Math
  • Elementary Phonics
  • Elementary Reading
  • Elementary Science
  • Elementary Social Studies
  • Elementary Study Skills
  • Elementary Vocabulary
  • English
  • Grammar
  • Homework Help
  • Language Arts
  • Microsoft Office
  • Microsoft PowerPoint
  • Painting
  • Poetry
  • Reading
  • Sign Language
  • Social Studies
  • Spanish
  • Speaking
  • Special Education
  • Spelling
  • Study Skills
  • Typing Skills
  • Writing Skills