Tutoring Nearby


Tutoring by William F. near Bethpage, NY 11714 Rates from $15 to $30

William F.

  • Bethpage, NY 11714
  • Male Age 37
  • Member since: 11/2011
  • Will travel up to 50 miles
  • Rates from $15 to $30 /hr
  • On-line In-Home In-Group

Profile Details

Experience Summary

I earned my B.A. from Tulane University magna cum laude in classical languages and philosophy. I received Tulane's oldest prize, the Judah Touro Medal, for excellence in the ancient languages and philosophy. The University of Chicago awarded me a full-tuition fellowship to its Master's program with a concentration in classical languages and philosophy. Having completed the program I am now a doctoral candidate, though on leave, in a dual PhD program (classics and philosophy) at Cornell University. I've also done coursework in Latin, Greek, philosophy, chemistry, physics, biology, psychology, mathematics, and others at Columbia University, New York University, Syracuse University, C.W. Post, and Loyola New Orleans. I have tutored students in sorts of subjects for several years now.

Credentials

Type
Level
Year Rcvd
Title
Issued By
Type:
Degree
Level:
Doctorate
Year Rcvd:
2011
Title:
PhD in Classics and Philosophy
Issued By:
Cornell University

Type:
Degree
Level:
Masters
Year Rcvd:
2010
Title:
MA
Issued By:
University of Chicago

Type:
Degree
Level:
Bachelors
Year Rcvd:
2009
Title:
Magna cum Laude in Greek and Philosophy
Issued By:
Tulane University

Teaching Style

In tutoring any of the traditional subjects (Latin, Greek, formal/informal logic, rhetoric, critical thinking), I emphasize the objectives common to them all: (1) acquisition of context-specific vocabulary, (2) a feel for the flexibility and polysemy of a given word's lexical-semantic meaning, (3) a comprehension of the text's thematic, stylistic, and evaluative undertones and progression. The three, taken together, require us to formulate arguments by sifting through material, with an eye to analysis on how texts are crafted for presentation in terms of form and content. The result is an understanding on how these three are essential for reading, arguing, and, ultimately, thinking critically. Subjects Tutored: Besides the aforementioned subjects, I also tutor for calculus and chemistry.

My Hobbies

Aviculture, Writing, Music, Parrots, Traveling, Psychology, Reading, Organic Lifestyles, Change, Inspiration, Individuality, Science, People, Learning, Debate, Honesty, Integrity, Objectivism, Yoga, Ayn Rand, Aristotle, NYC, New Orleans, Boston, Research, Diesel, Prada, Gucci, Armani, Being a material whore, etc, etc

Other Comments

“No other pleasure suits every occasion, every age, or every place. But the study of letters is the food of youth, the delight of old age, the ornament of prosperity, the refuge and comfort of adversity, a delight at home and no burden abroad; it stays with us at night, and goes with us on our travels, near and far” – Marcus Tullius Cicero

Subjects

  • Algebra
  • Algebra I
  • Algebra II
  • Algebra III
  • Calculus I
  • Calculus II
  • College Algebra
  • Geometry
  • Logic
  • Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Pre-Calculus
  • Trigonometry
  • Anatomy
  • Bio Chemistry
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Earth Science
  • Genetics
  • Inorganic Chemistry
  • Life Science
  • Organic Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Physiology
  • Psychology
  • Science
  • Sociology
  • Composition
  • Creative Writing
  • English
  • Grammar
  • Language Arts
  • Literature
  • Poetry
  • Reading
  • Reading Comprehension
  • Spelling
  • Writing
  • Latin
  • ACT
  • GED
  • GRE
  • PSAT
  • SAT - Math
  • SAT - Verbal
  • Writing Skills