We provide free access to qualified tutors across the U.S.
Find the perfect tutor now!

In-Person Tutoring Online Tutoring

ie: Algebra, Writing, Guitar...

ie: 33635 or Tampa, FL

Dr. Sheri G.


EdPath Specialized Learning Services: Tutoring for All

Rural Hall, NC 27045


Member since:01/2016

I am a Certified Teacher

Rates from $25 to $45

I can perfom tutoring:

  • On-line
  • In-home
  • Group

Will travel up to 40 miles

Additional Policies:

1) $25 per hour per student for pairs or groups of 3 2) $45 per 45 minute session for 1:1 tutoring

Contact This Tutor

Provide details about your tutoring needs.


In-Person Tutoring Online Tutoring

Your Zip Code:

First Name

Last Name


Confirm Email

Notify me of available tutors

I have read and agree to the Terms of Use

About Me

Experience Summary

I have been very busy this last year, but now have a little bit more time to do tutoring. I have a PhD in Special Education with an emphasis in Early Childhood Education and children with language and literacy-related difficulties. I can work with children and adults who have: ADHD, Central Auditory Processing Disorder, learning disabilities, cognitive impairments, ASD, or communication difficulties. I can also work with adults without disabilities. I can also teach ESL. I also enjoy and can provide:consultation and coaching for parents and caregivers of children from 6 months-6 Years in child development, positive discipline techniques, emergent literacy/reading readiness, and early literacy; and for children from 7 - 11 years consultation in child development, positive discipline techniques, reading, homework, homeschool curriculum, and working on IEP goals at home (I am not a speech/language pathologist and do not provide speech/language therapy) For children, I provide educational therapy, which includes but goes beyond typical tutoring. I have worked with children and adults for over 20 years, helping students from age 3-60. I hold an NC professional license in Special Education K-12, add on Pre-K license, and an Elementary Education license, but they are in need of conversion. I also still hold permanent NY licensure in special education. I am excited about and capable of working with students who have a wide-range of abilities and ages. I have attended many IEP meetings and can provide support to parents through the eligibility and IEP process. I also offer consultation to parents of children with and without disabilities who are homeschooling. For adults, I can provide tutoring in reading, composition (papers), English as a Second Language, and beginning Spanish. For aspiring teachers, I offer tutoring for the Reading Foundations and Special Education tests, in addition to editing papers for APA format. Se habla espanol.

Teaching Style

I take a holistic approach and match students' needs with my teaching methods. I begin with a free assessment during which we determine together how often and what kind if tutoring is needed. We also decide where and when tutoring will take place based on your needs and budget. I ask that parents or clients bring any previous testing information or IEP if one is in place. If needed or possible, I consult with current teachers or other educators about the student's needs and begin to develop a customized learning plan. During the second session, I bring ideas about a learning plan and we collaborate on the learning plan that will meet your or the student's needs. Sessions involve active learning and customized to fit each student's interests, experiences, activity level, abilities, and needs. Data is taken frequently to monitor progress. I use PhonoGraphix to build decoding skills, and for children I may also use iStation for decoding and comprehension. Every effort in made to make the sessions fun, motivating, and interesting, as well as immediately beneficial. Sessions can be held in your home or community library, or at my clinic/office in my Rural Hall home.

My Hobbies

Kayaking, reading, running, hiking, and playing with my dogs are my favorite hobbies.

Other Comments

I have expertise with learners who: have reading disabilities and difficulties have ADHD and/or ADD are learning English have Autism and related difficulties have Down's syndrome have learning disabilities have speech or language impairments are homeschooling or unschooling


Type Level Year Title Issued By
Degree Doctorate 2015 Special Education University of North Carolina-Gre...
Degree Masters 1992 Special Education Bank Street College of Education
Degree Bachelors 1983 Education Western Carolina University
Certification Professional I 2016 Special Education North Carolina

Subject Commentary

Composition Proficiency: Expert
I can help students at all grade levels with composition, including the use of APA format.
English Proficiency: Experienced
While I do not have TESOL certification, I have taught ESL in the past and my students have advanced in proficiency.
Reading This is one of my top subjects! Proficiency: Expert
I am quite experienced in teaching students of all levels to decode. My methods are evidence-based. I have taught students who have learning disabilities how to decode as well.
Reading Comprehension This is one of my top subjects! Proficiency: Expert
I am familiar with and use evidence-based strategies for improving comprehension. Students increase their ability to monitor their comprehension, identify text structure, and remember what they have read.
SAT - Verbal Proficiency: Experienced
I can help students prepare for the SAT verbal test.
Spanish Proficiency: Experienced
I speak good conversational Spanish, so can easily help beginners learning the language.
Writing This is one of my top subjects! Proficiency: Expert
I can help students at all grade levels with academic writing, including the use of APA format.

All Subjects I Tutor

  • Composition
  • English
  • Reading
  • Reading Comprehension
  • SAT - Verbal
  • Spanish
  • Writing