We provide free access to qualified tutors across the U.S.
Find the perfect tutor now!

In-Person Tutoring Online Tutoring
Search

ie: Algebra, Writing, Guitar...

ie: 33635 or Tampa, FL

Matthew F.

Back

Experienced ASl tutor

Yuma, AZ 85365

Male ( Age 32 )

Member since:12/2013

Rates from $20 to $30

I can perfom tutoring:

  • On-line
  • In-home
  • Group

Will travel up to 20 miles

Additional Policies:

Cancellation without 24 hr notice of $10

Contact This Tutor

Provide details about your tutoring needs.

Subject

In-Person Tutoring Online Tutoring

Your Zip Code:

First Name

Last Name

Email

Confirm Email

Notify me of available tutors

I have read and agree to the Terms of Use

About Me

Experience Summary

I am very experienced in the field of ASL. I learned the language when I was 6 years old because my older brother is hard of hearing. My whole family learned ASL and my two sisters became ASL interpreters. I followed in their footsteps and became a ASL interpreter when I was 18 in the Washington D.C. area. Because of this I was able to gain experience interpreting in the fields of education, business, and medical. It has been a joy to have been closely connected to the deaf community for 25 years. After 7 years in the business I also began to teach other people ASL and this has been a source of great joy. I loved it so much that I transitioned to teaching and tutoring full time now. Whether your a beginner and just learning the basics, need to improve your receptive skills, fingerspelling, fluidity, or even need to be taught the ABC's I will be happy to help you. I teach children and adults. I am eager to work with any who desire to excel in this beautiful language.

Teaching Style

Unlike the typical school system I prefer basing my teaching style to whomever I tutor. Every person learns differently. For example, some learn best from books, while others need a more hands on approach. So I like to find out how the student learns and teach in a way that tailors to their specific strengths.

Other Comments

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic I will conduct all classes online.

Credentials

Type Level Year Title Issued By

Subject Commentary

English ESOL This is one of my top subjects! Proficiency: Expert
I'm born and raised speaking English and have taught the language to 5 people. This includes my brother-in-law who moved to the U.S. from Peru.
Reading This is one of my top subjects! Proficiency: Expert
My brother, though being 30 years of age, reads at about a 5th grade level because of his having down syndrome. For years I have worked closely with him to improve in his reading and comprehension. I myself am an avid reader and during high school and collage have taken classes in academic reading, literature, and critical reading.
Sign Language This is one of my top subjects! Proficiency: Expert
I've been signing practically all my life because my brother is partially deaf. I don't believe in wasting countless hours studying a book because sign language is an expressive language, and the best way to learn is to be expressive and practice. I've used sign language to give speeches and presentations to groups ranging from as little as 10 to over 3,000. I believe learning the language should be fun and something that enriches your life. I've taught many people sign language thus far, and their ages ranged from 6 years old to 63 so I'm comfortable with a variety of ages. My brother has downs syndrome so I'm even used to working with handicapped people.

All Subjects I Tutor

  • English ESOL
  • Grammar
  • Reading
  • Reading Comprehension
  • Sign Language