We provide free access to qualified tutors across the U.S.
Find the perfect tutor now!

In-Person Tutoring Online Tutoring

ie: Algebra, Writing, Guitar...

ie: 33635 or Tampa, FL

Karen T.



Canal Winchester, OH 43110


Member since:07/2013

I am a Certified Teacher

Rates from $40 to $60

I can perfom tutoring:

  • On-line
  • In-home
  • Group

Will travel up to 20 miles

Additional Policies:


Contact This Tutor

Provide details about your tutoring needs.


In-Person Tutoring Online Tutoring

Your Zip Code:

First Name

Last Name


Confirm Email

Notify me of available tutors

I have read and agree to the Terms of Use

About Me

Experience Summary

I hold a permanent license from the state of Ohio for Grades Kindergarten----8. I taught in the classroom for 18 years and was actively involved in the development of individual courses of study at both above and below grade levels. For 10 years I was employed by my local church as Coordinator of Children's and Family Ministries where I worked extensively with children and families of the congregation both one on one and in groups. Currently I am a professional organizer (member of National Association of Professional Organizers) specializing in coaching students in organizational and academic skills, working with families on organizational skills, and tutoring children. I have 7+ years experience tutoring students of all ages in person in Language Arts. I am now coaching students in selected areas ONLINE through the use of Skype or Zoom.us. I have been tutoring students in China in reading and speaking English using children's literature and ESL instruction for the past 2 1/2 years using Zoom.us which is similar to Skype. I am quite comfortable with online face to face instruction. Please see my website www.tutorwithheart.com for more information about me and how I can help your student.

Teaching Style

I truly enjoy working one on one with students. I get to know each student and family so that I can work to meet the individual needs of each student. Then I address those individual needs through personalized lesson plans to teach to the strengths of the whole child. With older students this can also be accomplished ONLINE in selected subjects. I am compassionate, kind, and patient. Especially for the younger students I understand that games and fun activities are important to maintain interest as well as short spans of time on each activity. Even for older students we will move from one activity to another to decrease any boredom.

My Hobbies

I love spending time with our children and grandchildren. It is so wonderful to not only play with the grandchildren, but to see their eyes light up when we make special discoveries together. COSI and the zoo are 2 of our favorite places. I am still very active in my church and enjoy traveling, sewing, reading, and renovating our home.

Other Comments

You, as the parent, are the most important person in your student's life. I would enjoy talking with you to discover how we can best help your child through a team effort. TOGETHER we can bring calm to the heart of your FAMILY.


Type Level Year Title Issued By
Degree Masters 1985 Masters in Education/Emphasis on... University of Dayton
Degree Bachelors 1977 Bachelor of Science in Education... The Ohio State University
Other Additional 30 semester hours of ... 1993 Several areas of Elementary Educ... The Ohio State University, Ashla...

Subject Commentary

Basic Learning Skills Proficiency: Experienced
ONLINE, In Home or Library
Elementary Grammar Proficiency: Expert
In Home or Library only
Elementary Math
I tutor through grade 2 math In Home or Library only
Elementary Phonics This is one of my top subjects! Proficiency: Expert
In Home or Library only
Elementary Reading This is one of my top subjects! Proficiency: Expert
In Home or Library only
Elementary Study Skills This is one of my top subjects! Proficiency: Expert
STUDENT ORGANIZING SKILLS & STUDY SKILLS at the middle and high school levels. ONLINE or In Home/Library
Elementary Vocabulary Proficiency: Expert
In Home or Library only
Grammar Proficiency: Experienced
ONLINE, In Home or Library
Language Arts Proficiency: Experienced
ONLINE, In Home or Library
Reading Proficiency: Expert
ONLINE, In Home or Library
Reading Comprehension Proficiency: Expert
ONLINE, In Home or Library
Writing Proficiency: Experienced
In Home or Library only

All Subjects I Tutor

  • Basic Learning Skills
  • Elementary Grammar
  • Elementary Math
  • Elementary Phonics
  • Elementary Reading
  • Elementary Study Skills
  • Elementary Vocabulary
  • Grammar
  • Language Arts
  • Reading
  • Reading Comprehension
  • Writing