We provide free access to qualified tutors across the U.S.
Find the perfect tutor now!

In-Person Tutoring Online Tutoring
Search

ie: Algebra, Writing, Guitar...

ie: 33635 or Tampa, FL

Paul H.

Back

Atlanta, GA 30340

Male

Member since:04/2012

Rates from $20 to $35

I can perfom tutoring:

  • On-line
  • In-home
  • Group

Will travel up to 10 miles

Additional Policies:

n/a

Contact This Tutor

Provide details about your tutoring needs.

Subject

In-Person Tutoring Online Tutoring

Your Zip Code:

First Name

Last Name

Email

Confirm Email

Notify me of available tutors

I have read and agree to the Terms of Use

About Me

Experience Summary

I enjoy working with youth and tutoring Spanish, English, Language Arts and Mathematics. My first teacher training course in English as a second language was at the U.S. Embassy supported school in Montevideo, Uruguay, the Alianza Uruguaya-Americana. In Argentina in the 1990s I worked for several different institutes and picked up a broader knowledge of teaching methodologies, materials, and the brain’s learning process. Eventually Hewlett-Packard Argentina made me their chief English provider for ten years since they were so pleased with my results, and referred me to their channel partners. I am fluent in Spanish, possess a sound knowledge of its grammar rules as well as street talk, and have taught levels 1, 2 and 3. I translated from Spanish to English for the Buenos Aires Herald newspaper, many marketing web sites, and did technical and business translations for international companies and financial institutions. Upon returning to the States in 2003 I added mathematics to my curriculum, starting with grade school and working through, to date, 2nd year high school Math.

Teaching Style

Right brain or left brain? Some students appreciate the detailed laws and rules of a subject, others want a more practical approach to see why something is necessary to learn and how it is going to be applied in everyday situations. Usually some of both is necessary: the theoretical and the practical. I try to engage the student and make our learning very interactive. If it's fun he or she will learn quicker. I like to bring things they can handle, like coins to teach percentages and a cardboard cut-out pizza for fractions.

My Hobbies

I enjoy ballroom dancing.

Credentials

Type Level Year Title Issued By
Degree Associates 2008 Associate degree in Education Georgia Perimeter College
Other Trainer 1990 Teacher Instituto de Ingles de Buenos Aires

Subject Commentary

English ESOL Proficiency: Expert
I taught ESOL in Uruguay and Argentina for about 15 years.
Spanish This is one of my top subjects! Proficiency: Expert
I lived and worked in Argentina for 20 years; I have tutored Spanish here several years.

All Subjects I Tutor

  • Algebra I
  • Elementary Grammar
  • Elementary Math
  • Elementary Reading
  • English ESOL
  • Geometry
  • Grammar
  • Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Spanish